Your Cart is Empty

September 21, 2018 2 min read

A Völva (a female seer of the Norse) prophecies the events of Ragnarök (the Twilight of the Gods) to Odin. During this catastrophic battle many of the major figures perish and Midgard is destroyed by flood. This is the sequence of events: -

Baldr’s death and the subsequent binding of Loki and his son the wolf Fenrir by Tyr.

  • Three consecutive winters on Midgard (Fimbulwinter). Midgard will be at war, even family against family.
  • Jötunn herdsman Eggthér sits on a mound and plays his harp while three roosters crow, in the forest Gálgviðr, to the Æsir in Valhalla, and the halls of Hel.
  • Two wolves appear in the sky swallowing the sun and the moon. Even the stars disappear. Earth and mountains will shake, trees uproot, and mountains topple, causing restraints to break, freeing Fenrir and Loki.
  • Heimdall blows into the Gjallarhorn, and Odin consults Mím's head. The world serpent Jörmungandr creates mighty waves causing the ship Naglfar (which carries the enemies of the Æsir) to break free and enemies set forth for battle.
  • As battle commences, Odin is swallowed whole fighting the wolf Fenrir. Odin's son Víðarr rips Fenrir's jaws apart and stabs him in the heart.
  • Thor fights and kills Jörmungandr, but dies from the venom. Freyr is killed fighting Surtr and loses because she lacks her sword.
  • Garm (a fearsome monster wolf) breaks from his bonds with great howling and battles Tyr resulting in both their deaths. Loki fights Heimdall and the two kill each another.
  • The earth sinks into the sea and life is destroyed by flood and then erupts in fire which reaches the heavens.
  • Following Ragnarök, two surviving humans repopulate a re-emerged Earth. The surviving Æsir get together and peace and harmony is restored.

Leave a comment

Comments will be approved before showing up.

Get 10% OFF on your first order!